top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKathryn Mangubat

How to Jump Start a Freelancing Career Without Experience

Updated: Apr 6, 2020


Jumping start from a corporate world into freelancing career is honestly a huge struggle in the beginning. There are times that you really wanted to give up and just go back to your comfort zone.


I was an OFW and worked in a corporate world as an Executive Assistant for 15 years. Early 2019, I gave birth to a beautiful baby boy. I was then so confuse whether to bring him there with me at very young age or should I just stay here in Philippines. After few months, I finally decided to temporarily give up my career abroad and enjoy motherhood.


As days passes by, I started to miss earning money on my own. I continue researching what I can do without leaving my baby, hence, I found freelancing as virtual assistant. I felt that this is something I am good at. I can apply all my corporate experiences virtually.


I keep on applying online but the competition is really tough. I am already at the point of giving up, because I am losing all my motivations. I keep on trying, researching, and reading. I compiled below the most beneficial tips I found online on how to jumpstart freelancing career without experience.


1. Get Great at Showing, not telling

Potential clients want to see that you have the ability to perform the task they need done.They do not care about your experience.


2. Focus on building a Portfolio

As a new freelancer, you might not have many examples of work you’ve done, but a portfolio can take many forms. Remember, you’re selling the potential client on your ability to perform the task, so get straight to it and link your samples instead of dragging on about your experience. That won’t help you land the job– your samples will.


3. Amaze your Client

A big part of becoming a successful freelancer, like any business, is offering an incredible client experience. You can’t just get the sale, deliver the product or service, and then leave it at that high and dry. You need to maintain the same level of professionalism from beginning to end.


Ways you can do this include:

  • Offering realistic complete-by dates…and then turning in a day early

  • Offering daily updates

  • Find some small way you can go above and beyond and surprise your client


4. Get Written Testimonials

Testimonials by customers, peers or previous superiors are how you inspire confidence and build up your credibility. They don’t have to be long paragraphs or essays. The best testimonials are simple one-liners or reviews that are thoughtfully written with a genuine account of your abilities and professional conduct. Testimonials and reviews are organic advertising, which is the most trusted form of endorsement in our current age.


5. Get referrals from your personal network

One of the best ways to establish your professional credibility is via word-of-mouth marketing. People only recommend individuals or businesses they trust in and like, and recommendations by friends and family are always valued much higher than a stranger’s opinion. 


I hope the above keynotes will help you start your freelancing career. Let's start building our freelance career so we can make a living at the comfort of our home and enjoy the freedom of spending more time with our family.

 

Trackbacks & Pingbacks









18 views0 comments
bottom of page